Introduction

Below is a step by step guide on how to setup Clients, Users and Groups beginning with creating the Client and ending with setting up the Users and Groups for the Client sites.

1.0 Creating a Client

Navigate to Settings > Clients & Licensing > New Client.
If using the Onsite version of Naverisk, you will be the Master MSP and will be presented with the screen below:

Naverisk allows you to create a MSP and add Standard Client under the MSP. This is quite helpful when you have a Client that you want to monitor and they have various branches/sites within their company.

Once you have selected what type of Client that you want to create, you will be presented with the below screen, which will also be the screen that only you will see if you are on the Cloud Instance of Naverisk: 

Once you have filled in the required details of the Client and selected Save, you will then be presented with the Clients Primary point of Contact.

Once you have completed these fields, Naverisk will create a Person under People, this will enable you to assign a Ticket to an Owner which will then populate the 'To' field when you want to email out through the Ticketing Console.

You have now created your first Client Site!

Extra configuration can be accomplished on your newly created Client. In Clients & Licensing, choose your New Client and select the green Edit arrow on the right-hand side.

You will then be provided with the screen as below:

Here you can either configure more details for your Client or edit the details you previously entered.

2.0 Creating Users & Groups

Navigate to Settings > Users & Groups > select the appropriate Client form the list > New User.
You will then be presented with a new window as below, where you can create a Username and Password for your New User.

Note: You can also set the Date and Time format per user, for example, DD/MM/YYYY

There is no limit to the number if Users that you can create; you can also create Users for specific Clients so that these Users can only access the Clients that you have created them under. Once you have created the User, you can create a Group for the User.

2.1 Client by Client User Access

Groups can be quite handy as you can create Groups with different with different access withing Naverisk. As an example, a Group was created called the Client Portal. Your Clients can login to your Naverisk instance and see what Tickets they currently have open with you as well as being able to see the status of those Tickets.

Navigate to Settings > Users and Groups > New Group; you will then be presented with the screen below:

The User in this Group will only be able to access what we specify in the permission for this Group. To access the permissions for the Group, select the middle padlock button corresponding with the Group.

The screen below is where you can give Access, Edit and Create rights to groups using the different Tabs available within Naverisk, as well as Assign Rights, access to Client PR, Forum and Private Notes in tickets. In the image below, every section is disabled for Access, Edit and Create. This would give the User No Access. 

Enabling the Access Column, will allow the User to Access the contents of the page.

  • A user with Access enabled, can only see the contents of the selected Naverisk page.

 Enabling the Edit Column will automatically enable Access and allow the User to Access & Edit the contents of the page.

  • A user with Access and Edit enabled, will be able to edit items on the page. For example, they can edit a Ticket, or edit the Attributes page of a Device, or even change User passwords in the Settings->Users & Groups page.

Enabling the Create column will automatically enable Access and allow the User to Create new items in pages selected.

  • A user that has Access, Edit and Create permissions in a section of Naverisk, will have full control over that page. For example, a user with Access, Edit and Create permissions over the Settings page, will be able to fully control everything that can be found in the Settings page, such as Users, as opposed to a user with only Create and Access rights, who would only be able to view the contents or create new content, without being able to modify the content they created. 

The Group tab allows us to edit the details and add/remove Users.

The Client tab allows you to select each Client the User will have access to. This allows you to assign technicians to specific Clients where required.

In this example below, the user has only been given read access to the Client Tab; this will allow the test User to see just the Client Tab under their Client.

Another good use case for this functionality is to allow new technicians limited access to the Clients that you support. A new technician can only be allowed access to test clients whilst they are getting up-to-speed with your business. As time progresses and confidence in your new technician increase, you can allow them access to your Client base as well as more important Clients over time. 

With the Clients portal, Users can see the Tickets they have open with you as well as being able to see the list of Devices. This comes in handy if you want to give a particular User Remote Control access to their Device.

You can set that User up with a Remote Control password specific to their Device so that they cannot access any other Device under that Client. Using a Global VNC password is not recommended if you choose to have this functionality for your Client’s Users.

3.0 Interface Skin

In the Q1 Naverisk 2017 release we introduction a new feature to skin the interface. This is enabled by default when setting up a new user.

If you would wish to change this and go back to the classic UI, choose the classic option from the drop-down and click save.
The 2019 R2 release features a new ticket interface. If you prefer the old interface, tick the "Use Classic Ticket Interface" option. You can also enable or disable the option to expand a ticket in the ticket grid. Note that HTML emails are only displayed in the new ticket interface. The classic interface and the expanded view in the grid only show unformatted text emails.

4.0 Client Status Setup

In Naverisk we can setup a status for your clients to reflect what your relationship status is. This status is shown next to tickets for the client and can be used to identify quickly what level of care the customer should be treated with.

To setup the Client Status, navigate to Settings > Client Status

From here, you can then select the client you wish to set your Status on. If you wish, you can edit your top-level client and have all your customers inherit those settings. 

If Inherit is not used and the Client you selected does not have any pre-existing status values, then a pop-up will appear on screen, prompting you to create new statusvalues.

To create a new Status, click on the New Client Setting button in the top right.

From here, there are 4 areas that can be configured.

  1. Value: You can setup 5 different status types for your client, by assigning it a value between 1 and 5.
  2. Name: This is where you type the name of your Client status e.g. Good
  3. Icon Type: From here, we can set what kind of icon we want to use.
    The standard Naverisk icons can be used by using either SLA Status Code or Internal Naverisk Icons, or you can upload your own icons to use for your PR Status, or use an external file from a web address.
  4. SLA Icon: From here you can pick your preferred icon after selecting your Icon type. In the image below, the Internal Naverisk has been set as the Icon type, and you can choose any of the Icons used within Naverisk such as the maintenance mode icons.

In the below example, a client status of At Risk has been created and an uploaded custom icons has been used to represent this.

To apply this Client PR Status to a client, navigate to Settings > Clients & Licensing and click the Green arrow to edit the desired client.

Use the Client Details section, click on the drop-down for Customer PR Status and select your desired status.

You can also click on the Edit button next to Client Status to head straight to the Client Status section under Settings to edit the Status. Once you have chosen you correct Status, scroll down and click on Save.

Did this answer your question?